The Seven Colors Of The Rainbow

The Seven Colors of The Rainbow

When learning colors, talking about the seven colors of the rainbow is a fantastic way to help students relate the color names to something they have seen in the real world outside the classroom. There are seven colors of the rainbow and they always appear in a particular order.

What are the seven colors of the rainbow?

The seven colors of the rainbow are:

  1. Red
  2. Orange
  3. Yellow
  4. Green
  5. Blue
  6. Indigo
  7. Violet

What is the order of the colors of the rainbow?

Rainbow Color Order

The rainbow color order is often stated using the acronym ROYGBIV, with each letter representing the first letter of that color of the rainbow. So the rainbow color order is Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, and Violet. This is the rainbow color order from top to bottom. You may also see the rainbow color order listed as VIBGYOR which is the order from bottom to top, although this is less common.

7 Colors Of The Rainbow Worksheet


Want more resources about teaching colors in English. Check out our colors worksheets, colors PowerPoint Lesson, and our Colors Lesson Plan.